• tsf409

Tahoma High School We the People team earns first Place!

The Tahoma High School We the People team has once again earned first place in Washington state, and the honor of representing Tahoma against schools from across the country.

On Saturday, Jan. 9, the team competed at the state capitol in Olympia. The national contest will take place in Washington D.C. at the end of April.

“They have been at this since June,” adviser Gretchen Wulfing said. “Their work ethic has been inspiring and their performance, articulately applying constitutional principles, was exceptional.”

Each year’s We the People class is divided into six groups based on the six units of the We the People: The Citizen & the Constitution high school textbook. Each hearing begins with an opening presentation by students from one of the six unit groups. The opening presentation is followed by a period of questioning during which judges probe students’ depth of knowledge, understanding and their ability to apply constitutional principles.

This year’s team includes Hannah Adam, Marisa Allison, Stephen Brantzeg, Tyler Brazelton, Christina Diaz, Laurel Dillon, Madalyn Drotning, Elizabeth Duggan, Keegan Fitzpatrick, Davis George Galgano, Brittany Glover, Alexander Goodell, Stella Hagen, Erin Kalb, Amy Kiefer, Sarah Lincoln, Lane Lindblom, Alyna Morvice, Matthew Murphy, Kaitlin Nickel, Kathryn Owen, Joshua Pennington, Kenneth Perincheril, Jacob Robey, Jordan Smith, Peter Thomas and Megan Warren.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All